Mahaska County schools to vote for directors

For the first time school board members will be elected during municipal elections. The change has caused some concern since many times the school board districts do not align with city districts. Here is a recap of who is running for local school board seats in the districts that have seats in Mahaska County. 

At North Mahaska, District 1, the seat currently held by Sherrill Strobel, is between Michelle Sampson and James Roach. District 2 Director Dirk Wilkin is running unopposed. Erica Mae Groom is the challenger for the District 3 position currently held by incumbent Keith Foster.

Find the complete story in the Oct. 24 issue of The Sun. Subscribe by calling 1-800-558-1244 ext 122 or email Deb at or by clicking here.


Keota Eagle
310 E. Broadway Ave.
PO Box 18
Keota, Iowa 52248
Phone: 641-622-3110
Fax: 1-800-340-0805

New Sharon Sun
P.O. Box 502
New Sharon, IA 50207
Phone: 641-637-4031
FAX: 1-800-340-0805

The News-Review
120 East Washington
Sigourney, Iowa 52591
Phone: 641-622-3110

601 G. Avenue/PO Box 245
Grundy Center, IA 50638
Telephone: 1-319-824-6958
Fax: 1-319-824-6288

Mid-America Publishing

This newspaper is part of the Mid-America Publishing Family. Please visit for more information.