Long earns mayor term, Davis retains BC seat

While results from last night’s election are unofficial it appears Jeff Long of New Sharon and Barb Davis of Barnes City will be mayor of their respective cities. Elizabeth Haring of Fremont collected 21 votes as the lone candidate for mayor, but there were 81 write-in votes. The names of the Eddyville mayor and council, and Fremont mayor winner will be determined when the write-in votes are released. Eddyville had no candidates listed on the ballot. A canvas of the votes will be conducted in the next couple weeks with official results following.

According to the Mahaska County Auditor, Long garnered 135 votes and Denis Currier received 24 plus there were 12 write-ins. Larry Applegate and Ron Wyatt were competing for Applegate’s council seat. Applegate won the seat with 133 votes. Wyatt collected 119 votes.

Thirteen other votes were written in. There was no one on the ballot for an unexpired term There were 29 write-in votes for the position. As of Wednesday night those names were not known. The unexpired term received 29 write-in votes. The canvass will determine the winner. Barbara Davis easily defeated challenger Troy Ray in the Barnes City race for mayor. Two council seats were up with Donald Baker earning 37 votes. Nancy Dunnick received 27 and incumbent Jennifer McGuire received 22. There were four write-in votes.

Fremont City Council race saw four seeking one of two 2-year terms. Sherri Baxter garnered the most votes with 75. Zachary Neff had 49, Richard Beach 45 and Mica Cavan had 30. There were seven write-in ballots. Current mayor John Van Zante and Dollie Horn were seeking two unexpired terms. Van Zante was elected with 78 and Horn had 62. There were 32 write-ins.

Foster, Wilkin and Sampson earn seats

Keith Foster and Dirk Wilkin will retain seats on the North Mahaska School board and Michelle Sampson will take the third seat. Wilkin ran unopposed and picked up 73 votes to four write-ins. In District 1, Sampson defeated James Roach 49 to 22. Erica Groom challenged Foster for the District 3 seat with Foster garnering 28 to Groom’s six.

Complete results will appear in the Nov. 14 edition of The Sun.


Keota Eagle
310 E. Broadway Ave.
PO Box 18
Keota, Iowa 52248
Phone: 641-622-3110
Fax: 1-800-340-0805

New Sharon Sun
P.O. Box 502
New Sharon, IA 50207
Phone: 641-637-4031
FAX: 1-800-340-0805

The News-Review
120 East Washington
Sigourney, Iowa 52591
Phone: 641-622-3110
News: keokukconews@midamericapub.com

601 G. Avenue/PO Box 245
Grundy Center, IA 50638
Telephone: 1-319-824-6958
Fax: 1-319-824-6288
News: editor@gcmuni.net
Sales: registerads@gcmuni.net

Mid-America Publishing

This newspaper is part of the Mid-America Publishing Family. Please visit www.midampublishing.com for more information.